Checking the Pikes Peak Marathon Medal CHECKING THE MEDAL — A new medal of golden bronze depicting a marathon runner and Pikes Peak is on sale during Rodeo Week. The medal commemorates the annual Pikes Peak Marathon, and is sponsored by the finance business of this area. Pictured, standing left to right are Col. Broun Mayall, Bill Smartt, Bill Henderson, and seated left to right, Rudy Fahl and Ed C. Rochette, acting director of the American Numismatic Association. They head the production committee. (Gazette Telegraph Photo)

Medal to Commemorate Peak Marathon on Sale

A medal commemorating the 13th annual Pikes Peak Marathon which ended last Sunday has been issued by the financial businesses of the Pikes Peak area. The medal will be on sale here during rodeo week for one dollar at the banks and savings and loan associations and at the Pikes Peak or Bust Rodeo gate and ticket center on Pikes Peak Avenue and Tejon Street.

Pikes Peak Marathon The coin features a handsome running figure of Steven Gachupin, three-time marathon champion, with his record running time of three hours, 50 minutes, five seconds, with mileage and date of record. The reserve of the coin is the Pikes Peak relief used on the Bill Smartt marathon medallion designed by John Fetler, local sculptor.

The collector’s coin is finished in a new golden bronze in 1 5-16 inch diameter and 14-guage size.

The striking of the coin is spearhead by Col. Broun Mayall; Edward C. Rochette, acting director of the American Numismatic Association; Bill Smartt and Bill Henderson.

Banks and saving and loan associations of this area have contributed to the production of the medal, including:

Academy Boulevard Bank, Jim Kliever, president; American Heritage Bank and Trust Co., Henry Gerber, president; Bank of Fountain Valley, Don Hammer, president; Bank of Manitou, F.C. Aurand, president; Central Colorado Bank, Mike Yalich, vice-president; Colorado Commercial Bank, Robert E. Trego, vice-president; Colorado Springs National Bank, Col. Broun Mayall public relations; Exchange National Bank, Kay Fresychlag, public relations; First National Bank, Joel Webb, Chairman of the Board; Northern National Bank, Norman M. Postles, president; Pike Peak National Bank, Bill Henderson, president; Western National Bank, Willis F. Fischer, president; and the Fountain National Bank, Roy I. Gordon, president.

Central Mortgage and Investment Co., Fred Walker, president; First Federal Savings and Loan Association, Don Nienhuser, president; First Industrial Bank of Colorado Springs, R. L. McDowell, president; Columbia Savings and Loan Association, Art McCorry, manager; Midland Federal Savings and Loan Association, Jack D. Mick, manager; Rocky Mountain Industrial Bank, C. E. Katlin, vice-president; Security Savings and Loan, Arleigh Moore, president; Silver State Savings and Loan, Arthur W. Barr, manager; Western Federal Savings and Loan, Jerry Bills, manager; and Western Industrial Bank Lavar Ruckert, vice-president.

Back to a Pikes Peak Medal Collection